Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award

2002 Winner

Constable Jim Olsen
Lethbridge Police Service

Constable Jim Olsen

Constable Jim Olsen was awarded the 2002 Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award for his efforts in working towards an effective solution to improving the lives of youth with Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS), a brain disorder affecting a number of youth in conflict with the law. He played a crucial role in developing the FAS Youth Justice Committee, a program aimed at rehabilitating the offending behaviour of FAS-affected youth. His innovative work with youth affected by FAS shows he is dedicated to dealing with a problem that has major implications for the youth justice system today.

Constable Olsen came up with the idea for the justice committee after noticing that too many young people with FAS were going through the traditional court system. Constable Olsen, along with a few community members, found a way to divert these youth away from formal court proceedings by creating the FAS Youth Justice Committee. Through the implementation of daily living plans for FAS-affected youth, the committee worked to improve the behaviour of youth who have come into conflict with the law.

Certificates of Distinction

Constable Greg Ericson
RCMP, Turtle Mountain Detachment - The Killarney and District Justice Committee and Youth Assistance Program

Constable Greg Ericson

Corporal Al Vance, Corporal Jim Pratt, Constable Gerry Sonier
Regina Police Service - First Nations camps

Corporal Al Vance Corporal Jim Pratt Constable Gerry Sonier

Staff Sergeant Scott McLean
Niagara Regional Police Service - Youth justice committee

Staff Sergeant Scott McLean

Previous Winners

The Minister of Justice National Youth Justice Policing Award was established in 2000. Here are the previous award recipients:

Date modified: